Rachel Beiswenger – Helping Hands and Hoofing Heels

Rachel-2.jpg

JMA Photography

Unfortunately, I haven’t seen all that much of Rachel Beiswenger’s work, but from what I have seen I am sure I have seen the qualities of a star.

The first quality is her smile––it could light up Broadway during a blackout.

Her energy is infectious––it makes you just want to jump up and be ready for the day ahead.

Her delight for dance and tap shines through––it makes old steps fresh and reassures us of the bright future of dance.

Her footwork is fabulous––she channels a two dozen dancing Rockettes into her two feet.

Her chemistry is natural––she could perform with a stranger who’d never performed before and get them to give a performance worthy of a Tony.

All of these qualities are evident in the friendly little video she made with the equally friendly and talented Anne Connors.

The next thing that confirmed to me that she is a star are the answers she gave for our Q&A. They are gracious, they are kind, they are sweet. They are all the qualities of a star. But more importantly, they are all the qualities of a good human being.

Rachel-33.jpg

Juliana Laury Photography


Rachel Beiswenger – Interview

1. When, where, and why did you start tap?

I started tapping at age 4 at Chester Valley Dance Academy. I started because my mom took me to an open class and I fell in love with dancing at a young age.

2. What is it that you like about tap?

As a young dancer, I loved making sounds with my shoes and as I got older and more experienced I enjoyed all the different rhythms you can create through tap dancing.

3. What is/are your favourite tap step/s?

I love wings and pullbacks, which are probably some of the harder moves in tap.

4. Do you have any tap dancing heroes? People or things that inspire you?

I love Gene Kelly. His style was like no one else and he made tapping look effortless, which is a hard thing to do. I was also always inspired by my teachers growing up. I learned different styles of tap from my teachers, which has helped me in my career.

5. Who and/or what do you credit your successes to?

First to my family, for always supporting me and believing in me. And second to my teachers growing up, for teaching me all that I know and always pushing me to do my best.

6. What do your family and friends think of tap and your career as a performer?

I’m sure they think I’m crazy, haha, but in all seriousness they’re always really excited about my career. They support my decisions and are so happy for me when I book shows. It’s nice to have a strong support system in this business.

7. You worked with Anne Connors on Billy Elliot; what was that and the production like?

Miss Annie, as I call her, is one of kind. Such a hard worker and such an amazing friend. I’ve been in two shows with her and I absolutely adore her and look up to her. The production of Billy Elliot was wonderful. It’s a beautiful show, and we had some extremely talented kids in the show portraying Billy. I had a great time in Billy Elliot.

8. What projects are you currently working on or have coming up?

I’m about to start rehearsals for West Side Story at the Media Theatre. This is my first time doing this show, so I’m really looking forward to it.

9. What has been your favourite role or production that you have performed in?

One of my favorite shows is Spamalot, and I’ve been lucky enough to do two productions of that show. It’s so much fun and it never gets old for me.

10. Do you have any favourite tap moments from your career? What would be your dream performance?

I haven’t been in a lot of shows that feature tap, so my dream performance would be to be a part of Thoroughly Modern Millie or 42nd Street, two shows that heavy in tap dancing.

11. You’re trained in many forms, one of which is singing; what is your favourite song or type of music to sing?

Of course I love singing along with show tunes, but my favorite artist is Nikka Costa, and I love singing anything she writes. Her style is very funky yet emotional. I can relate to all of her songs.

12. What other hobbies/interests do you enjoy?

I love working out, taking dance classes and yoga, drinking coffee ( probably too much), reading, coloring in my adult coloring books.

13. How can tap grow as an art form and increase its exposure/popularity?

I think tap can grow if more people are exposed to it and learn it. There are so many dance reality shows on tv nowadays, and I think they should start to incorporate more tap dancing. Young dancers should opt to take tap as well as ballet and jazz and any other form of dance they’re interested in. It will only make them better and stronger dancers.

14. What advice would you give people starting out in performing or are considering taking it up?

I think the best advice I can give to young performers is to be patient and persistent. You will hear a lot of “no’s” before a “yes” and I know personally it can be very discouraging and frustrating. But don’t give up. If you truly love performing, stick with it and it will pay off in the end.

15. How does tap make people’s lives better? 

I think tap, as well as all dancing, can only enhance someone’s life. It’s a great way to express yourself in a very healthy and safe way. Tap dancing can help a person with counting, learning rhythms and timing, which can definitely cross over and help in other areas of life. In my opinion, tap dancing is so much fun, and there can be something very satisfying about making loud sounds with your feet 🙂


I took a lot away from what Rachel said in our interview. I had no idea that tap can help people with counting. Who knew?

The other thing that I took away from our Q&A, and will stay with me for a long time, is her natural inclination to help others. In her video, Anne mentioned how much Rachel helped out during the production of Billy Elliot. I can just imagine her calming influence settling down all the problems of backstage so that front stage could be ready to go.

And just look at the answers she’s given. The longest ones are those dedicated to giving advice or complimenting another. She has the opportunity to build up herself but would rather put the words and kindness into an answer where someone else would benefit.

I understand that show business can be a fairly brutal place, full of rejections and favouritism and egotism and what not. But it’s reassuring to see some selflessness. It’s reassuring to know that with all the opportunities to say how good she is, Rachel convinces me of how great others are.

Rachel Beiswenger isn’t about following the attitudes of show business.

If anything, show business should follow her.

God Bless,

CC


Rachel’s website

Rachel’s Instagram

Rachel’s LinkedIn

Leave a comment